Robert Avalon International Competition for Composers

Foundation for Modern Music is pleased to announce the annual Robert Avalon International Competition for Composers. The postmark deadline for scores is July 15, 2016 and the top two places in each division receive cash awards. Prizewinners are requested to be present for the concert at the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston in November 2016; participating in the performance and/or rehearsals is encouraged but optional.

Past judges serving on our distinguished panel have included William Bolcom, Kyong-Mee Choi, Carlisle Floyd, Gabriela Frank, Daron Hagen, Ted Hearne, Anne LeBaron, Tania León, Carman Moore, Chris Theofanidis, Juan Trigos, and Mary Carol Warwick. Composers from around the globe have participated as contestants, and each year both established and new voices benefit from the acclaim of prestigious artists.

This unique and signature event for our organization includes four categories: Junior, High School, University/Emerging Artist, and Professional. The latter classification has no age limit; current and retired professors are therefore eligible as well. Below is the web address and competition contact for further information.

Dr. Paul Boyd
FMM Executive Director
Professor of Music
College of the Mainland